Tennessee Record
Montgomery County
JP

Jorge Padro

Commissioner District 9Won District seat in Aug 4 2022 county general election (Montgomery County Election Commission results, Montgomery_ElecSumm_All); term 2022-09-01 to 2026-08-31 per Montgomery County Elected Officials List (updated 9/28/2026) shows 4 years 2026-2030; CTAS county legislative body page (T.C.A. § 5-5-102 four-year terms) says members take office the following September 1; T.C.A. § 5-6-101(b) county mayor term begins September 1 after election; 2026-08-31 end = day before the next term's September 1 start. Left office at term expiry; mid-term departures not checked.

No biography on file yet.

At a glance

News mentions
0

Term ending Aug 31, 2026.

Want every word Padro has said?

The OpenCity MCP for Claude.ai answers questions like “what has Padro said about housing this year” with one prompt — full speaking history, with YouTube timestamps.

Top issues during term (20)

high↓Jun 2026[15]

$524 million capital wish list

The full FY2027 budget was adopted, with $103,410 shifted from EMS and $75,000 redirected from arts to libraries.

medium↑Aug 2026[12]

Greenway extension via donated land

The land is a gift; ongoing park maintenance costs would fall to the county.

high↑Jun 2026[12]

Property tax relief and freeze programs now open

Sets the property tax burden for county homeowners for the coming year.

medium↑Jun 2026[12]

Veterans services and new VA clinic

She cited roughly 19 pending lawsuits against the county, which could carry litigation costs.

critical↓Jul 2026[9]

Death of Darius Chappell in county jail custody

None directly stated; speakers want the jail's contracted services reviewed.

high↓Jun 2026[9]

Fairgrounds-area commercial rezoning (CZ 11-2026)

Involves both donated land and a county purchase — dollar amount not stated.

medium↓Aug 2026[7]

Road and infrastructure projects funded

Phase two funded; TDOT improvements would be years out.

high↓Aug 2026[7]

Deaf and hard-of-hearing accessibility

Costs not specified, but establishing interpreter services or VRI contracts would carry a budget impact.

medium↓Aug 2026[6]

Unrestrained dogs in Georgetown Road neighborhood

None stated; enforcement would fall within existing animal control resources.

medium↓Aug 2026[5]

FY2027 budget amendment and grant appropriations

Grant funds and budget amendments were adopted; specific dollar amounts were not stated in the recording.

medium↓Jul 2026[4]

TEMA disaster recovery grant funds

Brings $1,228,154.08 into county coffers to offset disaster costs.

low↓Jun 2026[4]

Perry Road right-of-way abandonment

Minor — removes unused road segments from county maintenance lists.

medium↓Jul 2026[4]

Dental office rezone on Highway 41A

The project could grow local employment from about 20 to 50 jobs.

medium↓Jul 2026[2]

Convenience store rezone near Kirkwood School

low↓Jul 2026[2]

Publix opioid settlement participation

A small settlement amount, since Publix has a limited Tennessee footprint.

high↓Aug 2026[2]

Costco and Freedom Farm development incentive

$21.5 million over ten years, but payments only come after Costco remits the matching sales tax — projected $4.57 million a year for schools.

medium↓Aug 2026[2]

Jail boiler repair

Amount not stated; funded through the FY 2027 budget amendment.

medium↓Jun 2026[2]

School System Transparency and Safety Concerns

medium↓Jun 2026[2]

Saint Thomas Hospital TIF District

Uses future tax increments to incentivize development in the hospital district.

low↓Jun 2026[2]

Real Property Acquisition at Guthrie Highway and Arkadelphia Road

Purchase amount for the two parcels was not stated in the meeting.

Decisions during term (31)

Recorded while Padro was in office — not necessarily decisions they moved, spoke to, or voted on.

approved20-0Aug 10, 2026

CZ-8-2026 — Rezone AG to E-1 (Russell Ali & Carlo Rovetto)

approved20-0Aug 10, 2026

CZ-9-2026 — Rezone C-5 to R-1 (Regional Planning Commission)

approved20-0Aug 10, 2026

Consent agenda (resolutions 26-8-1 through 26-8-6, 26-8-8; minutes; clerk's report; mayor nominations; road list)

tabledAug 10, 2026

Resolution 26-8-7 — Commissioner compensation amendment

approved18-1Jul 13, 2026

CZ 42-2026 — Rezoning of Billy McGraw property from AG to C-2

approved19-0Jul 13, 2026

CZ 72-2026 — Rezoning of Kent and Carolyn Brown property from R-1 to C-5

approved19-0Jul 13, 2026

AB 3-2026 — Partial right-of-way abandonment of Perry Road

approved19-0Jul 13, 2026

Consent agenda — grants, agreements, appointments and minutes

approved20-0Jun 8, 2026

AB-1-2026: Partial ROW Abandonment, Cunningham Ridge Road

approved20-0Jun 8, 2026

AB-2-2026: Partial ROW Abandonment, Grimes Road

approved20-0Jun 8, 2026

AB-4-2026: Partial ROW Abandonment, Moore Road

approved20-0Jun 8, 2026

Consent Agenda: Resolutions 26-6-1 through 26-6-9, Minutes, Clerk's Report, Appointments

approved20-0Jun 8, 2026

Amendment to 26-6-10: EMS/EMA Position Transfer

approved13-7Jun 8, 2026

Amendment to the Amendment: Reallocate $75,000 to Libraries

approved15-5Jun 8, 2026

Amendment as Amended: Remove $75,000 from Arts Council

approved19-1Jun 8, 2026

Resolution 26-6-10: FY2027 Budget Appropriations (As Amended)

approved20-0Jun 8, 2026

Resolution 26-6-11: FY2027 Tax Rate Levy

approved20-0Jun 8, 2026

Suspension of Rules for Resolution 26-6-12

approved20-0Jun 8, 2026

Resolution 26-6-12: Donated and Purchased Real Property at Guthrie Highway and Arkadelphia Road

approved20-0Jun 8, 2026

Resolution Amending the Fiscal Year 2026 Budget of Montgomery County, Tennessee